Kid Cudi – ‘Speedin’ Bullet To Heaven’ album review

kid-cudi-speedin-bullet

 

I couldn’t make it through the album on my first try. It took me two days to listen to this from beginning to end. The only thing that was going through my head on the first day was, “is he serious?”.  And I didn’t mean it to sound snobbish I’m genuinely concerned. Though I’m not a big Kid Cudi fan I did love his first album. His big hit from that “Day N Nite” is song I still listen to. But this is a gargantuan mess. Rather then staying in Hip-Hop, Kid Cudi decided to make a punk/grunge album and man…it’s bad.

Tracks feel stale within ten seconds of the songs. Like these snippets of sounds would stretch out for two minutes. When he does hit a nice guitar tone or melody in the song the rest of the track pulls the song apart with the other elements. The lyrics are shallow, the production is bad, and finally the music is pretty much unlistenable. It felt like he didn’t even know what he was doing. There isn’t one song on this album that’s good. Snippets in songs are good but not a whole track. Which is really shocking. I just, I can’t believe it. Why, Cudi? Why did you think this was a good idea?

This album sounds like an awful demo you would hear back in high school from a friend. The type of album you would hear three songs and toss the free CD. I’m starting believe that Kid Cudi has fallen off the edge of sanity and is now in the depths of madness. He’s lost his mind! there’s really no other alternative. I hope somehow that Cudi gets a wake up call and realize that he needs to get his musical career back

The only good thing about this album is that it can only get better from here. It has too…right?

1/10

About turkotime

turkotime is a blog about music, books, movies, food and video games through my independent opinion
This entry was posted in blogging, music, review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

